Select Page

ESO Department to Department Visit Programme

About ESO Department to Department Visit Programme

The ESO Department to Department Visit Programme is a grant of 1,000 EUR offered to up to 8 young physicians and researchers to support a short visit of 1 week or as a contribution to a longer visit to a European department or laboratory. The programme aims to provide insight into stroke departments outside the applicant`s home country. The short visit may play an important role in the career of young physicians and researchers by establishing contact with people and departments who may provide future research and job opportunities. Awardees are expected to send a report after completion of their visit to be posted on the ESO blog and newsletter, and to acknowledge ESO in scientific work that results from the stay.

“I participated in morning ward rounds and discussions of the possible subtype of stroke, necessary diagnostic approaches, treatment options and secondary prophylaxis. It was my pleasure to observe the close cooperation between doctors of different specialties in the clinic, especially on the stage of the search of the most appropriate method of treatment. It was interesting to compare Ukrainian and Italian Medical systems for the benefit of the patient. This visit was very fruitful for me not only in clinical, but also in scientific aspects. I got acquainted with the research projects that are performed now in the Stroke Department, we discussed some future joint projects and works.” Awardee 2017 of the ESO Department to Department Visiting Programme Kateryna Antonenko

MD, PhD, Department of Neurology, Bogomolets National Medical University, Kiev, Ukraine

“Throughout my visit I had the opportunity to meet with different group leaders and scientists from the ISD. Of foremost interest for me was the Translational Stroke and Dementia Research Group, led by Professor Martin Dichgans, whose focus are the molecular, cellular and physiological mechanisms of stroke, with a particular interest in the identification of genes involved in small vessel disease and large artery stroke. I joined group meetings and one-on-one meetings with several members of the research group. Of special interest were the discussions with Doctor Malik on the topic of different genetic analysis, including estimation of heritability through different methods and genetic correlation analyses of various traits. These methods will be very useful to apply to upcoming projects and I very much look forward to collaborate with Doctor Malik in the future.” Awardee 2017 of the ESO Department to Department Visiting Programme Anne-Katrin Giese

Research Fellow, J.P. Kistler Stroke Research Center, Massachussetts General Hospital Program in Medical and Population Genetics, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

“I enjoyed to observe the numerous ongoing clinical trials among acute stroke diagnosis and treatment as well as secondary prevention studies. The remarkable organization of research activities was a valuable experience that gave me ideas and hints to implement my efforts in the field of stroke research and, hopefully, a precious opportunity for possible future collaborations.” Awardee 2017 of the ESO Department to Department Visiting Programme Alessio Pieroni

MD, Emergency Department Stroke Unit Hospital Policlinico Umberto, Dept. of Neurology and Psychiatry, ‘Sapienza’ University, Rome, Italy

“During my Dep to Dep visit programme I was attached to the team of the Stroke Unit, where we observed patients with stroke. I observed more than 5 patients a day. Every day we had a Morning Meeting, where all neurological patients were discussed. Professor Audebert was taking me to every morning round. Very detailed and very interestingly, he told me information about various causes of stroke, it’s diagnostic, differential diagnostic planning, surgery, medical treatment etc. In this hospital, I have greatly developed and deepened my knowledge in stroke.” Awardee 2017 of the ESO Department to Department Visiting Programme Rahim Aliyev

MD, PhD, Azerbaijan State Advanced Training Institute for Doctors named after A.Aliyev, Azerbaijan

Who Should Apply?

Physicians or researchers born in 1978 or after – with an interest in the field of stroke. Applicants must be ESO members (Junior membership application is available here). In the selection process, we have a special emphasis on applicants from low-middle income countries, interested in improving the stroke pathways and care in their institutions and three grants per year are reserved for this purpose.

How to Apply

The application deadline is 28 February each year. Interested applicants are requested to complete the application form (click here) and submit together with the following documents

  • Invitation letter from Head of the Department / Institution where you want to visit (host institution)
  • Letter of recommendation from the supervisor or Head at your department
  • Letter of motivation (1/2 page)
  • English CV ( 1-2 page)
  • List of publications
  • Copy of identity card/passport

If you require assistance to establish contact with an institution, please contact Dr Else Charlotte Sandset from the “ESO Young Stroke Physicians and Researchers committee” by e-mail to Applications must be submitted to the ESO Secretariat by e-mail to by February 28 of each year. For any questions, please write to

2016 Awardees

2016 Awardees

ESO is pleased to announce the 2016 awardees:

Ana Catarina Gaspar Fonseca Host Institution: Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences, University of Edinburgh Read Report Mansur Kutlubaev Host Institution: University of Cambridge Read Report Eugenia – Maria Muresan Host Institution: University of Nottingham, School of Medicine, Division of Clinical Neuroscience, Stroke, UK Read Report Loes Rutten-Jacobs Host Institution: Institute of Stroke and Dementia Research, LMU, Munich, Germany Read Report

2017 Awardees

2017 Awardees

ESO is pleased to announce the 2017 awardees:

Awardee:                                       Rahim Aliyev (Azerbaijan) Host Institution:                           Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany Read Report Awardee:                                       Kateryna Antonenko (Ukraine) Host Institution:                           University Hospital of Perugia, Stroke Unit, Department of Internal Medicine, Perugia, Italy Read Report Awardee:                                      Anne-Katrin Giese (German/Harvard) Host Institution:                           Ludwig-Maximilians-Univeristy, Munich, Germany Read Report Awardee:                                      Dearbhla Kelly (Dublin/Ireland) Host Institution:                          University Hospital Lariboisiere, Paris, France Read Report Awardee:                                      Patrick Nicholson (Dublin/Ireland) Host Institution:                           Inselspital Bern, Neurology Department, Bern, Switzerland Read Report Awardee:                                      Alessio Pieroni (Rome/Italy) Host Institution:                          Queen Elizabeth University, Stroke Unit, Hospital in Glasgow, United Kingdom Read Report