We were pleased to be able to hand over the annual ESO Awards in person at the traditional ESO Award Ceremony: Honouring our esteemed colleagues with the ESO Presidential and Scientific Excellence Award is one of the highlights of our annual gathering.

With great pleasure, we congratulate the ESO Award winners of 2023 for their outstanding achievements and contribution to the ESO and our community of stroke specialists, working towards our common goal to reduce the burden of stroke in Europe.

Please join us in honouring:

Prof. Philip Bath (University of Notthingham, UK) – ESO Presidential Award 2023

Philip Bath (FRCP DSc FMedSci) is Stroke Association Professor of Stroke Medicine, Head of Academic Stroke and Director of the Stroke Trials Unit at the University of Nottingham, as well as an Emeritus NIHR Senior Investigator and honorary consultant stroke physician at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

He has been conferred several awards and commendations, including being named the UK Stroke Association’s Keynote Lecturer in 2015 and the International Stroke Conference William M. Feinberg Award Lecturer for Excellence in Clinical Stroke in 2016, along with receiving the President’s Award for Research from the British Association of Stroke Physicians in 2019 and the President’s Award from the World Stroke Organisation in 2021.

With over 500 publications, he was Chief Investigator of the TAIST (Lancet 2001), ENOS (Lancet 2015), TARDIS (Lancet 2018) and RIGHT-2 (Lancet 2019) multicentre phase III randomised controlled trials and leads the ongoing PhEAST trial in post-stroke dysphagia.

ESO Presidential Award

This award is bestowed upon an advanced career person who has made a significant impact on stroke care internationally over many years, someone who has had an important influence on educational or political development for stroke care across Europe or even worldwide. The achievement thus need not be research based but may involve leadership, mentorship, implementation, or changing of attitudes.

Dr Jonathan Coutinho (Amsterdam UMC, The Netherlands) – ESO Scientific Excellence Award 2023

Jonathan Coutinho is a stroke neurologist from Amsterdam University Medical Centers, the Netherlands.  He attained his PhD in 2014 at the University of Amsterdam and completed a post-doctorate research fellowship at the University of Toronto from 2014-2015.

As a staff neurologist at Amsterdam UMC, he combines clinical work with academic research. His research focuses are diagnosis and treatment of acute ischemic stroke, and cerebral venous thrombosis.

He co-leads the international consortium on cerebral venous thrombosis, and has authored and co-authored over 200 papers in peer-reviewed medical journals.

His current research projects include: Mind-the-Heart study, DOAC-CVT trial, ELECTRA-STROKE and the AI-STROKE trial in all of which he is the project leader. He is also involved as trial coordinator and member of the Executive Committee in the MR CLEAN NO-IV trial and local coordinator and member Steering Committee of MR CLEAN MED and MR CLEAN LATE as well as many more.

ESO Scientific Excellence Award

This award is given to a “rising star”, a mid-career researcher, for whom an award for repeated research excellence could assist advancement to a final career position.