Brain 2018 an EAN ESO Initiative

Brain 2018

The European Stroke Organisation (ESO) partnered with the European Academy of Neurology (EAN) once again to present Brain 2018. The symposium, held in Mumbai, India from 8-9 September, continued the annual tradition with a productive symposium between Indian and European faculty.

Brain 2018 focused on Epilepsy, Stroke, Migraine and Pain as the main topics of discussion. This year`s symposium attracted more than 300 participants from across India and continued the fruitful exchange of knowledge between Indian neurologists and European faculty. A major highlight of the event was The Great Debate in Epilepsy  which focused on “First AED: New or Conventional”.

The European faculty representing EAN and ESO was comprised of Prof. Dr. Tim von Oertzen, Prof. Dr. Peter S. Sandor, Prof. Dr. Urs Fischer, and Prof. Dr. Troels Staehelin. The Indian faculty included Dr. (Prof.) Manjari Tripathi, Dr. (Prof.) R. Lakshmi Narasimhan, Dr. Nirmal Surya, Dr. Jayanti Mani, Dr. Praveen Gupta, Dr. Sumit Singh, Dr. (Prof.) M.V. Padma, Dr. M. Pradeep, Dr. Rajsrinivas Parthasarthy, and Dr. A. K. Meena.

X Road

Following Brain 2018, ESO launched X Road, an initative by Mindvision in association with ESO, to bring together experts from Europe and India to share clinical experiences for effectively treating patients in India. This unique roadshow event will focus exclusively on addressing the current challenges in managing stroke.

X Road launched on 10 December and is currently underway in India with stops in Kolkata, Indore, and Bangalore. The first stop in Kolkata attracted 100 local physicians.

In Mumbai and Kolkata, visits to local hospitals have further expanded on the exchange of knowledge.

The Brain 2018 symposium and X Road are supported through an unrestricted educational grant from Lupin.