Another year and yet another ESOC held as virtual event. We are more than confident that the conference will be an enriching and worthwhile experience with excellent presentations of major clinical trials, a packed scientific programme with state-of-the-art seminars, scientific communications of the latest research, and debates about current controversies.

And not to forget about the traditional ESO Award Ceremony: Honouring our esteemed colleagues with the ESO Presidential and Scientific Excellence Award is one of the highlights of our annual gathering.

With great pleasure, we congratulate the ESO Award winners of 2020 and 2021 for their outstanding achievements and contribution to the ESO and our community of stroke specialists, working towards our common goal to reduce the burden of stroke in Europe.

Please join us in honouring:

Prof. Bo Norrving (Lund University, Sweden) – ESO Presidential Award 2020

Bo Norrving is Professor in Neurology at Lund University, Sweden. His research activities have focused on stroke epidemiology, stroke syndromes, small vessel disease, ultrasound, neuroimaging, clinical genetics, clinical trials and organisation of stroke services. He is author of more than 500 scientific publications with an H-index Web of Science All Databases of 98, about 80 000 citations and a Google scholar index of 103. He is not only a founding member of the ESO and was its Vice President from 2008 to 2010, but also serves the society in his function of Editor-in-Chief for the European Stroke Journal ESJ. From 2008 to 2012, he acted as President of the WSO. In addition, Bo created the world’s first national stroke register The Swedish Stroke Register (Riksstroke) in 1995 of which he is currently Chair. As member of the Steering Committee, he is highly engaged in the ESO flagship project ‘Stroke Action Plan for Europe SAP-E’, and was one of the first authors of the scientific publication in 2018. Bo Norrving is a Fellow of the ESO, the WSO, the AHA, and the RCPE.

Prof. Urs Fischer (University Hospital of Basel, Switzerland) – ESO Scientific Excellence Award 2020

Urs Fischer, Professor for Clinical Neurology, is the Chairperson of the Department of Neurology at the University Hospital in Basel, Switzerland. As a clinical researcher, his main research interest involves diagnosis, management, treatment and outcome of patients with acute neurological diseases, especially of patients with acute ischaemic and haemorrhagic stroke. He is participating in multiple preventive, diagnostic and acute treatment trials and stroke registries and acts as principal investigator of several international multicentre academic trials on the management of patients with ischaemic and haemorrhagic stroke. Urs is the former Secretary General of the ESO, Treasurer of the Swiss Neurological Society (SNG), Member of the Programme Committee of the European Academy of Neurology (EAN), and he is Co-Founder the ESO ESMINT ESNR Stroke Winter School. Urs Fischer is a Fellow of the ESO.

Prof. Michael Brainin (Danube University Krems, Austria) – ESO Presidential Award 2021

Michael Brainin is Full Professor (Emeritus) of the Danube University Krems, Austria and Emeritus Professor and Director of the Clinic for Neurology at the University Hospital Tulln, Austria. He is author of 237 pub-med listed papers, has an H-index Web of Science All Databases of 54 and more than 32 000 citations. From 2012 to 2014, he was President of the ESO and from 2018 to 2020, he was President of the WSO. Michael founded the first acute stroke unit in Austria in 1997 and co-founded the National Stroke Unit Network.  From 2007-2021 he co-chaired the European Master’s Program in Stroke Medicine at the Danube University in Krems, a two-year program of excellence. In addition, he reported to the WHO and WHA, represented the WSO at the meetings and for activities of the Global Coalition for Circulatory Health and the NCD Alliance. Michael Brainin is a Fellow of the ESO, the WSO, the AHA, and the EAN.

Prof. Georgios Tsivgoulis (University of Athens, Greece) – ESO Scientific Excellence Award 2021

Georgios Tsivgoulis serves as Professor of Neurology and Chairman in the Second Department of Neurology in National & Kapodistrian University of Athens, School of Medicine. He is also a Visiting Professor of Neurology and Director of Stroke Research, in the Department of Neurology in The University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Memphis, TN, USA. He authored more than 500 papers and 16 book chapters, has an H-index Web of Science All Databases of 58 and 13 000 citations. His main research interests focus on acute reperfusion therapies in acute ischaemic stroke, applications of neurosonology in cerebrovascular diseases, secondary stroke prevention and clinical trial methodology. Georgios is a member of the writing group of the ESO Stroke Action Plan for Europe SAP-E and the ESO guidelines for intravenous thrombolysis. Since 2020, he serves as Vice President of the ESO and is a Fellow of the ESO, EAN and AAN.