ESO is pleased to present Heinrich Audebert as Chair of the Board of Directors. He is a neurologist and Head of the Department of Neurology at Campus Benjamin Franklin of Charité Universitaetsmedizin in Berlin, Germany. Within this responsibility, he is involved in everyday care of stroke patients from stroke assessment at scene, acute in-hospital management to long-term aftercare.

His main research fields are prehospital diagnosis and therapeutic management of stroke, optimal stroke service provision in underserved areas using telemedicine and secondary prevention optimized by managed care.

He also serves as President Elect of the Prehospital Stroke Organisation (PRESTO) an international society of individuals and institutions being involved in prehospital stroke treatment – mainly on the basis of Mobile Stroke Units. In addition, he is a member of the Board of Directors of the Center for Stroke Research Berlin.

The ESO Board of Directors is one of the official boards of the European Stroke Organisation.
The main responsibility of the Board of Directors is to support and to advise the Executive Committee as well as to supervise the activities and the budget of the Organisation. The Board of Directors meets at least 2 times per year. Members of the Board are elected by the General Assembly for terms of 4 years. The board consists of the members of the Executive Committee (N=8) and 15 additional members.

The Board of Directors may designate special matters to the Executive Committee. Several key positions of the ESO are elected by the General Assembly upon proposal of the Board such as the President-Elect, the Treasurer and the Secretary General.

Beyond the official duties of the Board of Directors, we understand its role as a committee with a broad representation of ESO members, regions and national associations. With the heterogeneity of European societies and health care systems, it is vital to integrate many different perspectives into the activities of the ESO. We also feel a responsibility of supporting the ESO President and Executive Committee in communication of core values and missions into the different communities – hence being an integral part of the ‘Voice of Stroke in Europe’.

Board of Directors

Heinrich Audebert (Chair)


Hugues Chabriat


Louisa Christensen


Blanca Fuentes


Mirjam Heldner


Simon Jung


Christine Kremer


Robin Lemmens


Carlos Molina


Panayiotis Mitsias


Paul Nederkoorn


Jukka Putaala


Christine Roffe

United Kingdom

Götz Thomalla


Marialuisa Zedde