This year we were able to meet in Lyon as well as online in the first fully hybrid ESOC. We were pleased to be able to hand over the annual ESO Awards in person once again at the traditional ESO Award Ceremony: Honouring our esteemed colleagues with the ESO Presidential and Scientific Excellence Award is one of the highlights of our annual gathering.

With great pleasure, we congratulate the ESO Award winners of 2022 for their outstanding achievements and contribution to the ESO and our community of stroke specialists, working towards our common goal to reduce the burden of stroke in Europe.

Please join us in honouring:

Prof. Valeria Caso (University of Perugia, Italy) – ESO Presidential Award 2022

Valeria Caso is a Stroke Neurologist at the Santa Maria della Misericordia, University of Perugia Stroke Unit, Italy and certified as full Professor in Neurology. She served as President of the European Stroke Organisation (ESO) from 2016-18. During her Presidency, she co-founded the ESO EAST programme and continues to as an active member of the Steering Committee.
Prof. Caso has authored more than 300 published papers and book-chapters with an H Index of 61 and more than 135,00 citations. She has lead and participated in more than 20 multicentre trials on acute stroke treatment as well as primary and secondary prevention.
Within the ESO, some of her recent accomplishments include appointment as co-chair of the Drafting Committee for the European Stroke Action Plan 2018-2030 (SAP-E). She also co-authored the European Guidelines for Stroke in Women (published in 2022) and presented in two webinars on the topic.

Prof. Caso is a great supporter of women in medicine in the wards, research labs, international societies and as enrolled participants in major RCTs.

ESO Presidential Award

This award is bestowed upon an advanced career person who has made a significant impact on stroke care internationally over many years, someone who has had an important influence on educational or political development for stroke care across Europe or even worldwide. The achievement thus need not be research based but may involve leadership, mentorship, implementation, or changing of attitudes.

Prof. Guillaume Turc (GHU Paris, France) – ESO Scientific Excellence Award 2022

Guillaume Turc is full Professor of Neurology at Université Paris Cité and Sainte-Anne hospita, Paris, France since 2021. His main research interests are focused in acute ischemic stroke, clinical epidemiology, methodology, and biostatistics. He authored more than  150 publications indexed in Pubmed (h-index 38, over 5400 citations) and is involved in the development of ESO Guidelines since 2014, Chairman of the ESO Guideline Board since 2018. Prof. Turc is also the corresponding author of the 2019 ESO-ESMINT Guidelines on Mechanical Thrombectomy and the 2021 ESO Guidelines on Intravenous thrombolysis for acute ischemic stroke. Additionally, he serves as the Principal Investigator of the ASPHALT randomised controlled trial of mobile stroke unit deployment vs. usual care.

In May 2022, Guillaume Turc will become the head of the research lab led by Prof. Jean-Louis Mas.

ESO Scientific Excellence Award

This award is given to a “rising star”, a mid-career researcher, for whom an award for repeated research excellence could assist advancement to a final career position.