

# Committee Report 2022 ESO Young Stroke Physicians and Researchers Committee

### Report of the ESO Committees - Summary



### Young Stroke Physicians and Researchers Committee

- Diana Aguiar de Sousa, Portugal (Chair)
- Aristeides Katsanos, Canada
- Barbara Casolla, France
- Ellis S. van Etten, Netherlands
- Lina Palaiodimou, Greece
- Märit Jensen, Germany
- Michele Romoli, Italy
- Peter Sporns, Germany
- Tom Moullaali, UK
- Vojtech Novotny, Norway

# Report of the ESO Young Stroke Physicians and Researchers Committee



#### ESO blog

- Weekly posts during 2022, including:
  - ESJ comments (simultaneous publication in collaboration with the ESJ editorial office)
  - Interviews "Ask the expert" (young and senior researcher)
  - Educational clinical cases
  - Short and informal reviews on narrow topics with practical interest
- Wide attention in social media (ESO channels)

### Career mentoring workshop at ESOC 2022

- 4 young stroke researchers presented their projects with the mentors
- Two talks on career development topics (Martin Dichgans and Kennedy Lees)
- 2 awards for the best candidates place at the ESO summer school and ESO-Edinburgh Stroke Winter School

## Report of the ESO Young Stroke Physicians and Researchers Committee



### Department to Department visiting programme

- 10 grants (6 for middle-low income countries)
- TF4UKR grants
- Several reports already published in the ESO blog
- New programme for 2023 is open

#### ESO-Edinburgh Stroke Research Winter School

- Involvement of the YSPR committee (Tom Moullaali)
- Collaboration with the ESO educational platform eSTEP
  - YSPR members of the editorial board (Linxin Li and Barbara Casolla)
  - Participation in monthly educational webinars in collaboration with the Education committee

## Report of the ESO Young Stroke Physicians and Researchers Committee



- Paper of the month task-force
  - Participation of the YSPR committee (Mãrit Jensen)

### ESJ – ESO YSPR peer-review training programme for young researchers

- New programme planned and conducted in close collaboration with the ESJ (Kennedy Lees)
- More than 140 applicants
- 11 candidates selected
- The mentoring process started in January 2023 and will continue throughout the year