Dr. Peter Vanacker

Dr. Peter Vanacker


Peter Vanacker MD PhD is a stroke neurologist at the Antwerp University Hospital in Belgium. He represents the ESO Young Stroke Physicians committee within Angels initiative.

More information

Neurology residency at the University of Leuven (Belgium) followed in 2012, by two clinical research fellowships in stroke care at the University hospital Bern (supported by EFNS grant) and at the University Hospital Lausanne (supported by ENS grant).

Between 2012 and 2016 working as a research collaborator at the University Hospital of Lausanne and Antwerp in order to obtain a PhD in Medical Sciences on the topic of acute stroke care and multimodal imaging.

Currently working as a neurovascular consultant at the University Hospital of Antwerp and at the Groening hospital (Kortrijk, Belgium) where new innovative projects are initiated regarding stroke care.

Other Executive Comittee Members

Dr. László Szapáry



Dr. László Szapáry is an Associate Professor at the Neurology Department of University of Pécs Medical School in Hungary.

Dr. Laurent Derex


Laurent Derex, MD, PhD, is board certified in neurology, co-Head of the Stroke Center, Department of Neurology, Neurological Hospital, University of Lyon, France.