Dr. Danilo Toni

Prof. Danilo Toni


Prof. Danilo Toni is Director of the Emergency Department Stroke Unit in University Rome Sapienza. Since 1985 he has been involved in study design, quality control, data analysis, steering committee and national coordination of many therapeutic international trials and registries (ECASS, ECASS II, ECASS III, ECASS IV, TESPI SITS-MOST, RE-SPECT ESUS, NAVIGATE ESUS, SAFFO).

More information

He is National Coordinator for Italy and member of the Steering Committee of the SITS-ISTR.

He is member of National and International scientific Societies as the Italian Society of Neurology, the Italian Stroke Organisation and the European Stroke Organisation.

He has published in the research field of acute stroke (early diagnosis, prognostic indexes, therapy) more than 300 original articles, abstracts, congress presentations, books’ chapters and one book.

Other Executive Comittee Members

Dr. Dilek Necioglu Orken

ESO - Stroke Unit Committee

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dilek Necioglu Orken is the director of the Neurology Department, Neurological Intensive Care Unit and Stroke Unit at the University of Health Sciences in the Sisli Hamidiye Etfal Education and Research Hospital.

Dr. Ales Tomek

Czech Republic

He currently serves as a Chairmen of Executive Committee of the Cerebrovascular Board of Czech Neurological Society. Dr. Tomek works as a chief of the cerebrovascular program and deputy director of the Neurology Department, 2nd Medical Faculty of Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic. Dr. Tomek is also a fellow of the European Stroke Organisation.