Dr. Hanne Christensen

About Dr. Hanne Christensen

Prof. Gary A. Ford

Chair of the Council of Fellows


Gary Ford, FRCP, CBE, FMedSci is Consultant Stroke Physician at the John Radcliffe Hospital, Chief Executive Officer of the Oxford Academic Health Science Network and Visiting Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at Oxford University; he has been a FESO since 2005.

He was Director of the NIHR Stroke Research Network in the UK from 2005-14 and prior member of the Board of Directors of ESO.  He is Chief Executive Officer of the Oxford Academic Health Science Network, a regional health partnership established to spread innovation to improve health and generate economic growth.

He is a consultant stroke physician at the John Radcliffe Hospital in Oxford.  His research interests are pre-hospital diagnosis of stroke, optimal service organisation to deliver hyper acute stroke therapies and effect of age on response to stroke treatments. He developed the FAST and ROISER scales and has published over 250 peer reviewed articles.

More Info

She is Chairperson of the Danish Stroke Society and prior member of Board of Directors of ESO. She is Course Director of Neurology at the University of Copenhagen and involved in European and National guidelines in cerebrovascular diseases and in antithrombotics.

Research Interests include acute stroke and in-hospital treatment including secondary prevention with focus on imaging. She serves on the editorial several journals and is supervisor for 9 ongoing or completed PhD-students, author of +85 Medline indexed articles and 3 textbook chapters.

Clinical focus is on establishing pathways to ensure high quality evidence based treatment and care for all presentations of stroke and TIA including long-term follow up and sector crossing.

Executive Committee

Prof. Valeria Caso

Perugia, Italy

Valeria Caso is a stroke neurologist at the University of Perugia Stroke Unit. She earned her PhD from the University of Perugia in stroke medicine in 2003 and is currently associate professor in Neurology.

Dr. Bart van der Worp

Dr. Bart van der Worp

Utrecht, Netherlands

Bart van der Worp is a neurologist with a special interest in cerebrovascular diseases at the University Medical Center in Utrecht, the Netherlands. He has been (co-)Chief Investigator of the randomised clinical trials HAMLET, PAIS, COOLIST, and VAST and is (co-)Chief Investigator of PRECIOUS (www.precious-trial.eu), APACHE-AF (www.apache-af.nl), and MR ASAP (www.mrasap.nl).

Prof. Urs Fischer

Bern, Switzerland


Urs Fischer has trained in Bern (CH), London (UK), San Francisco (USA) and Lomé (Togo), and he is Professor of Neurology at the University Hospital (Inselspital), Bern. He is the Head of the Neurological Emergency Team, which treats more than 1400 stroke patients per year.