Dr. Bart van der Worp

Dr. Bart van der Worp

Dr. Bart van der Worp

Utrecht, Netherlands

Bart van der Worp is a neurologist with a special interest in cerebrovascular diseases at the University Medical Center in Utrecht, the Netherlands. He has been (co-)Chief Investigator of the randomised clinical trials HAMLET, PAIS, COOLIST, and VAST and is (co-)Chief Investigator of PRECIOUS (www.precious-trial.eu), APACHE-AF (www.apache-af.nl), and MR ASAP (www.mrasap.nl).

More Info

He is a member of the recently founded Dutch CONTRAST consortium (https://www.contrast-consortium.nl) which aims to identify and test new treatments for patients with acute ischaemic stroke or intracerebral haemorrhage through a range of follow-up trials to MR CLEAN.

Three years of preclinical work in the 1990s have aroused his interest in the translation of findings from animal stroke studies to clinical trials, which he aims to improve together with other members of CAMARADES (www.dcn.ed.ac.uk/camarades).


Other Executive Comittee Members

Prof. Martin Dichgans

Munich, Germany

President Elect

Martin Dichgans is a Professor of Neurology at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, LMU (Munich, Germany). He is the Founding Director of the Institute for Stroke and Dementia Research, Director of the Interdisciplinary Stroke Center Munich, and on the Board of Directors of the DFG funded Excellence cluster ‘Munich Cluster for Systems Neurology (SyNergy)’.

Dr. Else Charlotte Sandset

Oslo, Norway
Secretary General

Else Charlotte Sandset graduated as a medical doctor from the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland in 2006, achieved her PhD from the University of Oslo in Norway in 2012, and completed a year as visiting fellow at the George Institute for Global Health in Sydney, Australia in 2016.